frombeverlysfrontporch

Come sit and kick up your feet! Your always welcomed! My blog is about life..as I see it..from my front porch..please follow me..below!

Taste of fall : loaded baked potato soup!

Leave a comment

image

I love… love my crock pot..all three of them! Yes I have crock pot overload….but in my defense , there are times when I am cooking for a crowd that I need that many!!! At any given time I use two….usually one for the meal and another for dessert!
I use my crockpot 24/7….in the summer its nice because it doesn’t heat up the kitchen to cook…and I can make corn on the cob..ala cart….the crockpot with no fuss….not to mention easy  baked  potatoes to go with those ribs on the grill…..in the winter I love it for soups..after ball game meals….and for busy days after work! At The holidays its nice to have the extra crockpots to cook with!!! I can even make an overnight breakfast oatmeal dish that will make anyone want to get out of bed in the morning….so in case you didn’t know it yet…the crockpot is your best friend in the kitchen..its like having an extra set of hands!
Today was a gloomy wet day….the perfect day for loaded baked potato soup! If you’ve not tried this yet…run do not  walk to your.local grocer…and pick up the necessary ingredients!! You can thank me later!

image

Yummo!!! In your tummy! Hers the recipe…..enjoy!
INGREDIENTS: 6 large baking potatoes, peeled, cut in 1/2-inch cubes 1 large onion, chopped 1 quart chicken broth 3 cloves garlic, minced (or pressed) 1/4 cup butter 2 1/2 teaspoons salt 1 teaspoon pepper 1 cup cream or half-and-half cream 1 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese 3 tablespoons chopped fresh chives 1 cup sour cream (optional) real Bacon bits fried & crumbled cheese, for sprinkling

DIRECTIONS: Combine first seven ingredients in a large crock pot; cover and cook on HIGH for 4 hours or LOW for 8 hours (potato should be tender).

Mash mixture until potatoes are coarsely chopped and soup is slightly thickened. Stir in cream, cheese and chives.

Top with sour cream (if used), sprinkle with real bacon bits and more cheese.

Cheers!

Beverly

Author: frombeverlysfrontporch

I have two blog they are about life..and what happens in the day to day living of it..somedays are filled with trial and error..other days are perfect..gotta take the good with the not so good..I have a love of all things..God,My Country, Family, friends , life..and new adventures! The second blog is about..living a healthy life style and that journey getting there! Cheers! Beverly

Leave a Reply

