frombeverlysfrontporch

Come sit and kick up your feet! Your always welcomed! My blog is about life..as I see it..from my front porch..please follow me..below!

Asthma…i hate it

Leave a comment

this post is  unexpected… I had a wonderful end of the week trip planned for New York City..to be on the Good Afternoon America show.. Lara Spencer is making over a Small table I bought at a boot sale in London..several years ago..

So today at this moment I should be laying in a very Posh Hotel room..awaiting morning to arrive when I was to be taken by the ABC studio car to the Good Afternoon America studio where I was to view the reveal of my table..

Instead I am sitting at the computer in my house in North Caolina..recovering from yet another Asthma attack..lucky the show will be rescheduled in two weeks

I hate asthma.. it sneaks up on you at the most inopportune times..of couse I must admit no time is a good time for asthma to sneak up on you..

If you don’t have asthma..thank God…cause it is not a good thing to have..

I still don’t understand it.. its been three years now since I have been diagnosed with it.. at first I was in denial..asthma me..no way…but WAY …believe me I got it..

It’s a dreaded feeling to not be able to get a breath in..to not have control over each breathe.. many people take breathing for granted.. most don’t even have to think about it.. it’s just something you do ..many times..day in and day out..with no thought to it..

to us with asthma..we think about it alot..especially in a middle of an asthma attact…there scary..fighting and anoying..most times you recognize them and a good inhaler or a nebulizer can help ward off a trip to the emergency room. But let me tell you.. don’t be ashamed to go to the ER..if you can’t talk…because you can’t breathe..that’s trouble..with a CAPATIAL T..

I will talk here for a minute about the ER treatment..its a guessing game at best.. and as a veteran of Asthma..you must speak up and tell them what works for you… One breathing treatment may work for some and maybe two for others.. a shot of a steroid can do wonders quickly….after my experience last night in the ER.. I have come to the conclusion..that I will in the future stand my ground on what treatment I want for MY asthma.. I know my body and I know what works.. I have been down this road a time or two..if I want the friking steroid shot.. give it to me… I’m not a drugie..I need it to breathe and stop looking at me like I just asked you to shoot me up with Herrion..I need this to breathe..no I don’t just want another prescription to get filled tomorrow.. I want relief right now.. And if you give me the damn shot I can feel that relief in 5-10 minutes..which when you can’t breathe seems like hours..

Parents if you have a child with asthma..learn to be there best advocate.. learn what helps them and remember it…the next time you have to take them to the ER..speak up and tell them what you want them to do..like I said earlier they do not know your child..they are actually guessing what would help.. but you, you know what helps..don’t make your child play the guessing game here…tell the doctors what you want them to do..

Now before someone comes in and yells at me for the above statement.. let me just say this.. IF your self or your child have never delt with Asthma before..you are not in any position to tell anyone what you want to do.. at first it is a guessing game..as to what treatment will work for you.. you have to be a very important part of that treatment plan. you have to show your voice from the get go..and be honest with what works and what doesn’t.. it took my Doctor and I months to get my treatment plan where we felt it should be. And keep in mind ..sometimes it will need tweeking…so be active in your own or childs plan..get a note-book at write down meds..times..things you think might trigger the asthma attacks…responds to treatments..how frequent the asthma attacks are..write it down..and do share it with your doctor..this will help the two of you develop the very best plan of treatment for your asthma..

Next , don’t take asthma likely…every day 9 people die from asthma attacks..over  3300 die each year from asthma attacks that could be avoid..

  • Asthma cannot be cured, but it can be controlled.

so for today..I will be taking it easy..and tomorrow too..asthma takes a lot out of you when your struggling to breathe..it takes me a few days to get it back together..until the next time it roars its ugly head..which if it never happened again..would be too soon..

the next time someone you know has a asthma attack , don’t take it lightly..please…see you in two weeks on Good Afternoon America..Asthma willing…

Author: frombeverlysfrontporch

I have two blog they are about life..and what happens in the day to day living of it..somedays are filled with trial and error..other days are perfect..gotta take the good with the not so good..I have a love of all things..God,My Country, Family, friends , life..and new adventures! The second blog is about..living a healthy life style and that journey getting there! Cheers! Beverly

Leave a Reply

