frombeverlysfrontporch

Come sit and kick up your feet! Your always welcomed! My blog is about life..as I see it..from my front porch..please follow me..below!

THE ZONE!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

As  I set down to write this blog today , I wasn’t sure how to put into words the way I feel..it’s difficult to express sometimes.. you know that inter-feeling that feels so wonderful you want to share it.. you want everyone who has ever tried to succeed in weight loss to feel it.. you know that “runner’s high”….so to speak.. I call it being in the  “ZONE” …when you get in the “ZONE” …you know it…you feel it…and you never want it to end..you must do everything you can to “protect” it..cause if you lose the “ZONE” you know  it may be YEARS before you find it again…trust me I know… I’ve held the “ZONE” close before..more than once.. but it’s almost like “all of nothing”….either I am in the “ZONE” or I have a black cloud hanging over my head..no in-between does that make sense?

Let me try to explain..when your heavy..like me..you have this bleak out look on just about everything.. Oh you have moments of grander..but in your mind things are dark..you slowly lose interest..slowly stop caring about life..you fall deeper into this bottomless pit , that you feel you will never get out of.. some of you may say “hey that’s depression.. ” and maybe it partly is.. but I think it’s more..It’s a cross between depression and self pity? By that I mean we can talk ourselves into feeling sorry for ourselves , our situation..I’m fat.. “I’m never going to get a good job”… I can’t get a date…”it’s because I’m fat:.. poor me… “I want what they have.. but I will never have it”.. cause I’m fat..”why do all the cute skinny people have the most interesting lives..unlike us fat people..” it goes on and on and if you listen to those voices in your head.. it will take you down that deep dark path..with little chance of no return…. on the flip side of this.. which is why I don’t see it as depression so much.. we have moments of denial..moments when we know we want the dating scene…the relationship. but tell ourselves .”.I just can’t find the right person..”. “I could have all that… but I just don’ t want work to be my life”… we make excuses…so depending on what our days is like.. depends on if we are living in denial or if were living in the world of no return.. which in reality both are denial stages if you look at it.. 

NO matter which world your living in… YOU and YOU only have the power to change it…yes I will say it again.. YOU and only YOU can change you situation right now….taking that first step is what it is all about… you have to go out of your comfort zone and make the first move..the first change towards you new goal…it may be you want  to lose weight, maybe change jobs, go back to school, get out of a bad  relationship..what ever it is .. YOU have the POWER to change it…

For me,,, I am UN- happy with my life.. at 56 I am laid off…drawing unemployment..living with my son ( for which ( am grateful) with no relationship…for the first time in my life..and worried about my future and retirement..

So after pondering it about for way too long.. I decided that I needed to devise a plan.. where did I want to be in say 4 years , when I I’m 60…in 10 years when I’m 66? I wasn’t sure of the answer except for one thing..I wanted it to be different than it is right now.. Don’t get me wrong..My children mean the world to me.. I am grateful for my son’s help..but he shouldn’t have to be helping me.. yes I do  help out.. with the money I receive.. And I am blessed that I truly have no debt but living expenses ( being debt free was something I worked hard on after my divorce…).. but I’m not ready to throw in the towel on life ..I am ready for the newest best chapter in my life..to start! I love adventure..I thrive on it.. yet these days..the most adventure I get is going to Sam’s Club and seeing what’s new! I need more.. I want more..I want my life to be filled with adventure.. I want to be self sufficient..I want a relationship..someone to do things with.. someone to share life with…so I need to do something about making that happen..

My first step is changing my life style.. making better , healthier choices..getting fit..and healthy.. because with out gaining control of my life.. no adventures are ever going to happen from the view on the couch…

So we finally get back to the “ZONE” ..this is how you feel inside… it’s all of the eating right.. exercise.. losing the pounds…making you feel better “ZONE”…. and it doesn’t come after you get your weight off… it comes quickly… you will notice it.. you will feel it.. you will see and feel the change in your self…it usually finds you in the first month of making significant changes.. your body is moving more.. your exercising.. you feel lighter..your skin has a glow..clothes are starting to get too big…your looking in the mirror and your starting to see a difference..its not so hard to stick with your new lifestyle.. its becoming “easier”…your happier…you smile more… you laugh…this is the “ZONE” ! And when you feel it.. and see it… you will know…and when you do…PROTECT it…CHERISH it ! DO NOT lose it…because if you lose it.. you go back to your old ways..you stop caring again..and the weight will come back…DON’T let that happen!!!  Be very vigilant…stay the course.. do what you have to do..to encourage yourself to stay on the “ZONE” path.. beause it is so much better than that dark one…

I have been in the “ZONE” about three weeks now.. but today for the first time.. I saw my son…looking like he is in the “ZONE”.….I haven’t asked yet..for he is only in his new lifestyle a week now.. but I see it.. for the last three days.. he has done things around the house inside and out.. that have needed to be done for months…usually after his 10-12 hours work days he’s too tired to do anything..but he has been working up a storm around here… and he gets excited telling me about his work day…  and how he didn’t eat anything he wasn’t suppose to.. with each day he succeeds at this.. more excitement comes…he shared a story with me ..about his friend John at work ( who has just started his new life style three days ago)..They were busy getting reports out that were due..rush..rush..as usual.. when John , asked Mike for his keys to a room up stairs.. Mike gave him the keys and in passing as he was going out the door said ” I’ll grab us both a candy bar upstairs ..Mike said he was so busy he didn’t’ even think about it.. and said OK..and went about working.. then he said.. it REGISTERED what John had said..! He grabbed his walkie talkie and said ..hey John..about that candy… I don’ think so!!!!!!!!!!!! He reached in his snack bag and shared a proper snack with him… saved by MIKE!!!

I was so proud of him …it would of been easy to say.. oh well one won’t hurt.. but he didn’t ..signs of the “ZONE”….this morning he came out of his bedroom ready for work..when he asked.. does this look OK? It looks very nice I say with a smile… And added.. I don’t think I’ve seen you in those blue dockers in awhile.. he smiled back.. New life style is paying off I say… yes it is.. he replied..

So I figure he is going in the “ZONE”…which is a much better place to be in life..I want this for him so badly.. and I am unable to hand it over to him…he has to do all the work.. I support him.. I encourage him..I pack lunches..make meals..but it all boils down to he has to do it.. and I am so proud he has chosen to do so..

I have a feeling there will be NO stopping him ..together were a team.. a unstoppable team…and we can do this together..its more bearable with someone on your side…with their support…

so remember when you feel the “ZONE”…rejoice.. and protect it….keep it with you forever…don’t lose it…

and you will achieve all you want to achieve.. in the “ZONE”!!!!

So I leave you with my theme songs of sort..MOVE IT ! MOVE IT! I love this song..put it on and you can’t help but smile and move..make up your own dance to it..Move it! Move it!

Author: frombeverlysfrontporch

I have two blog they are about life..and what happens in the day to day living of it..somedays are filled with trial and error..other days are perfect..gotta take the good with the not so good..I have a love of all things..God,My Country, Family, friends , life..and new adventures! The second blog is about..living a healthy life style and that journey getting there! Cheers! Beverly

Leave a Reply

