frombeverlysfrontporch

Come sit and kick up your feet! Your always welcomed! My blog is about life..as I see it..from my front porch..please follow me..below!

time to low carb!

Leave a comment

Image

I have spent most of my life dieting.. I’m not good at it.. I try … But I must admit …I keep doing it over and over.. I try, I give it all I got and then.. bam..I’m off of it..its been a roller coaster ride.. with more lows than I care to admit..

I have been doing so so the last couple months.. its hard.. did I mention that.. well you see I love food.. and it loves me back.. yep I said it.. I have a love relationship with food.. it comforts me in my time of need. I use it to celebrate everything I can think of… I reward my self with a “treat” too many times.. my life revolves around the food..good days and bad.. it’s the one constant thing in my life..but lately…”MR Food” has been abusing me..way to much.. it’s starting to catch  up with me.. and its hampering my life.. in fact in some way “MR Food” took control of my life.. and the last time someone had that much power over me ( my husband) ..I got rid of him! We divorced…I saw the abuse and did something about it.. well “Mr Food” our love affair is coming to an end.. You lied..you always told me I could do anything I wanted to do.. it didn’t matter how much extra weight went to my hips..the extra pounds never would stop me.. I could still be “healthy” and be obese..Oh how could I listen to all of those lies.. HOW? Why didn’t I see the signs? Why didn’t I listen to my body ..it tried to tell me..it gave me warning signs, but no, I found excuses.. for each sign..after all ” Mr Food” loved me.. he told me it would be alright.. I wouldn’t even listen to “Mrs Mirror”.. I saw it with my own eyes.. but I would tell myself..hey your having a great hair day.. you have such a pretty smile..don’t worry about those extra rolls.. here ,have another cookie.. it will make you feel better.. and for a time it did…Mr scale tried to show me.. point blank…how Mr food was abusing me.. but it was ok… if I went up a few pounds and when I didn’t want to face Mr Scale anymore I shoved him under my bed…out of site and out of mind…but Mrs Dresser tried to tell me.. and I still didn’t listen.. when my clothes started feeling tight.. I made excuse after excuse.. the “dryer” shrunk them.. I’d go shopping for clothes and pick up the next size up.. they felt better , but it was ok.. Mr Food said ,here have another cookie.. it will make you feel better.. and it did for the moment.. I can find excuse after excuse for Mr food…but the buck stops here… no more excuses…I am listening to the signs..Mrs Mirror, My Body, Mrs Dresser and Mr Scale…I am listening to you.. I am going to look at all of the signs… and MR Food…we are about to change our relationship..forever.. I can’t kick you out of my life for good.. You are apart of me..just as I breathe…but I am going to take control from here on in.. I am going to decided what to put in my mouth.. and I am going to love myself enough for both of us.. I won’t be needing you for love anymore..nor comfort…Only norishment…that right.. I am going to learn to eat to live not live to eat…get use to it.. you will be in the back ground at all events in my life from here on in.. I am not going to have a love/ hate relationship with you anymore.. I tolerate you and that is it.. tolerate… I must have you to live…but not nearly as much as I thought I had to in the past…you see I have to do this..for its just not about me anymore.. it’s about me and my son…SO my life as a fat person stops today.. I know, I know..I’ve said it a million times and I’ve meant it a million times… but this time it will be different.. I need to do this.. it is long over due.. and now… now my son Mike needs it too.. with a high blood pressure scare for us both.. its time.. and we have agreed to get going and start low carbing.. for me I am going cold turkey…taking  it head on.. for him I am slowly easing him in.. he can’t do it cold turkey.. I  am giving him a week to get use to the cut backs..each day we are taking something away… today its diet drinks…we are drinking water… and clear diet drinks , except for the occasional diet root beer..hey we made it through the day! Tomorrow he will be cutting out bread….slowly.. only two pieces a day for a week and then NONE… I have already told my bread good-bye… I had to let go…it’s difficult but we did it..we are setting small goals… we both have lots to lose.. our first goal is 40 pounds…in three months… we can do it!!!  today we had eggs and bacon for breakfast…and tea….lunch was chicken salad and fruit… dinner we had grilled chicken with diced tomato wrapped in lettuce leaves. with a dash of ranch dressing.. I loved it… Mike had his on a toasted bun.. for dessert we had fruit.. it’s so hot outside …you really don’t want much to eat…not a whole meal anyway…so step aside Mr food…MRS FOOD is in charge.. and she LOVES herself and her SON.. so from now on in MRS food is in charge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I won’ t tell him yet.. but we will be adding exercise to our list of changes.. baby steps.. I will “sneak” it in!!! Until tomorrow….Take control….be MRS food in your life and take back your emotions..no more abuse…stop it now!!!

To make the Chicken Lettuce Roll ups..

Grilled Chicken breast diced

Two slices of tomato diced

one slice onion diced

two Tab. ranch dressing

large lettuce leaves..

arrange the diced chicken, tomato and onion onto the lettuce leaf..add the dressing and wrap… you will love the crunch of  the fresh lettuce…love these..you can fill them with any meat and veggie you want.. its unlimited to what you can pack in these!

Author: frombeverlysfrontporch

I have two blog they are about life..and what happens in the day to day living of it..somedays are filled with trial and error..other days are perfect..gotta take the good with the not so good..I have a love of all things..God,My Country, Family, friends , life..and new adventures! The second blog is about..living a healthy life style and that journey getting there! Cheers! Beverly

Leave a Reply

